A specific BIM software open source?

Hello, my name is José, I am an architect and software developer and I work at a public university in Argentina (UNPaz).
From the Argentine universities, we want to obtain an open source BIM modeler within a reasonable time.
We are interested in the digital transformation in our country being done with open source software. We have relieved Freecad and Blender (with plugins) but so far it does not seem feasible to replace Revit or Archicad with these tools. Especially since to replace them it is necessary to extract the construction documentation from the 3D model, and in that aspect both solutions seem to be far behind.
We greatly appreciate the effort that many of you are making and we want to contribute.
We are building an organization that brings together our university programmers to get down to work and speed up the times of obtaining an open source BIM modeler.
We do not know whether to start working on the Freecad platform (fundamentally oriented to mechanics) or Blender (oriented to 3D animation).
Wouldn’t it be better to take the best of each (including Inkscape for 2D drawing) and create a new BIM-oriented open source organization? We could adhere to the ifcopenshell and maintain a constant exchange with Freecad and Blender, but focusing development in the BIM world.
I see incredible people like @yorik and @Moult whose opinion interests me a lot. From here in Argentina we could contribute resources from our universities to support the project.
If what I propose is crazy do not hesitate to criticize me with the corresponding vehemence.
Best regards,
José

Good morning @joselaks! I’m thrilled to hear you are excited about the work @yorik and I are doing :slight_smile:

FreeCAD has been around quite some time, but did not start with architecture as its focus, from my understanding. This is similar to Blender, also didn’t have architecture as its focus.