Phasing in IFC

Does IFC have a phasing concept? Where can info abut different phases in a renovation projecet be stored? Such phases can be “Existing”, “Deomlished” “New”.

1 Like

Phasing is ‘time bounded’, i expect this not to happen in ifc. But i’m not an expert in the code. As a user i would just make a couple of seperate ifc files for pratical use. Why not?

From a quick glance at ifc4x3.exp schema

https://standards.buildingsmart.org/IFC/DEV/IFC4_3/RC2/HTML/link/ifcperformancehistory.htm

LifeCyclePhase IfcLabel Describes the applicable building life-cycle phase. Typical values should be DESIGNDEVELOPMENT, SCHEMATICDEVELOPMENT, CONSTRUCTIONDOCUMENT, CONSTRUCTION, ASBUILT, COMMISSIONING, OPERATION, etc.

https://standards.buildingsmart.org/IFC/DEV/IFC4_3/RC2/HTML/link/ifccontext.htm

Phase IfcLabel ? Current project phase, or life-cycle phase of this project. Applicable values have to be agreed upon by view definitions or implementer agreements.

1 Like

It does. Look for the “Status” parameter in the common psets.

https://standards.buildingsmart.org/IFC/RELEASE/IFC4/ADD2_TC1/HTML/schema/ifcsharedbldgelements/pset/pset_beamcommon.htm

Status of the element, predominately used in renovation or retrofitting projects. The status can be assigned to as “New” - element designed as new addition, “Existing” - element exists and remains, “Demolish” - element existed but is to be demolished, “Temporary” - element will exists only temporary (like a temporary support structure).

1 Like

Thank you all for answering! @tsolsen’s answer is what I was look for. Do you happen to know if it’s possible to get this correctly exported from Revit? The property values should be a PEnum_ElementStatus right? Looks like there are traces of it in the revit exporters code: https://github.com/Autodesk/revit-ifc/blob/897b3b1190e1ece816f6cddb5f7da432ae474b97/Source/Revit.IFC.Export/Toolkit/IFC4Enums.cs#L3001

It is :slight_smile:

PropertySet: Pset_xyzCommon I IfcElement