XSD Optional Attributes

Devon has raised an issue about optional XSD attributes here:

This has been puzzling me too, but the best explanation I’ve heard/identified is that by making all attributes optional, you can use xml validation tools when taking advantage of xml href for common references. Not this isn’t specific just to this attribute, I can see in IfcDoc all attributes are forced to be optional.

Below is a sample of ifcxml. Note that the properties are defined within the first IfcRelDeclares, and then referenced within the property set template definition. If the GlobalID attributes is required, then notepad++ validation tool fails this. I’m not an expert in xml, but I assume there has to be a better way to handle this?

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<ifcXML xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns="http://www.buildingsmart-tech.org/ifc/IFC4x1/final" xsi:schemaLocation="http://standards.buildingsmart.org/IFC/RELEASE/IFC4_1/FINAL/XML/IFC4x1.xsd">
	<header>
		<time_stamp>2019-08-01T02:09:24</time_stamp>
	</header>
	<IfcProjectLibrary GlobalId="0xNUMqo4v2JQgvm1eG8byl" Name="DemoLibrary">
		<Declares>
			<IfcRelDeclares GlobalId="1p$MsXBQP4fRog0yDp8OSD" Name="Properties">
				<RelatedDefinitions>
					<IfcSimplePropertyTemplate id="MyProperty1_3eWOEVX55F2v9g_SnOYB3V" GlobalId="3eWOEVX55F2v9g_SnOYB3V" Name="MyProperty1" TemplateType="p_singlevalue" PrimaryMeasureType="IfcLabel" />
					<IfcSimplePropertyTemplate id="MyProperty2_104NlF0cH7JhA_NN2cERA" GlobalId="104NlF0cH7JhA_NN2$cERA" Name="MyProperty2" TemplateType="p_singlevalue" PrimaryMeasureType="IfcLabel" />
				</RelatedDefinitions>
			</IfcRelDeclares>
			<IfcRelDeclares GlobalId="2bm9EKgi9Cxh48FZsSQWev" Name="PropertySets">
				<RelatedDefinitions>
					<IfcPropertySetTemplate GlobalId="01h32OutHFgxkDsa4HdM$w" Name="MyPropertySet" TemplateType="pset_occurrencedriven" ApplicableEntity="IfcSystem">
						<HasPropertyTemplates>