Which Software to create lists of quantities of the used building materials

Hi there
I am a consultant for sustainable buildings. To make life cycle assessments and therefore to quantify the used building materials, people in my office use the measure tool of a PDF reader, which reminds me of the Stone Age.

I would like to improve that practise and as we always get an IFC file, I would like to use a Software to take out the quantities of the used building materials. Are there any recommendations which software, best would be freeware, to use, that can easily create lists (compared to eg. the lists in Revit)?

Thanks you!

Hi Luca,

This is exactly the sort of thing I thought we would use IFC for.

However, after doing a lot of reading, research and messing about with various IFC libraries my conclusion is that IFC is so complicated it is only feasible to use it as an exchange format, i.e. to transfer information between two different systems.

Data exchange was actually the main design purpose behind IFC (and it has problems all of it’s own) but I had high hopes that we would be able to use it directly. It is possible, but it is not easy and IMO it rarely worth the effort.

I am sorry to be so negative but if you search for real-world examples of IFC processing you will see what I mean.

Cheers,
Derek.

Hi Derek

Thank you for your evaluation. For me this should be a key feature to not only use IFC files as an exchange format but also to be able to drag informations out of it.
I did try it with Solibri Office and it worked quite well though. It is possible to filter materials and read out quantities. I could also export it to Excel.
So it is not as bad as it seems but also not entirely perfect.

Cheers
Luca

I think your experience is dependent on the quality of the IFC export. With a properly structured and exported file, you should be able to query quantities based on materials or material layers.