IfcLightSource Implementation

Hello I’m a newbie with IFC and I’m working on implementing lighting geometry to blender bim as a research project.
My problem is I can’t find anything on implementation of IfcLightSource or have not found any examples of it. I desparetly need help. Is there any BIM software that supports lighting geometry? Any kind of direction would be a big help.

Thank you in advance

G’day @yorgunkirmizi ! I’d love to help you with your research project! Implementing lights has been on the todo list for a while but I never got around to it!

The lights are dependent on the rendering engine. Lights will need to be translated in different ways for Cycles / Eevee, versus other engines. An ambient light refers to the world settings, directional would be a sun lamp, positional is a point light, and goniometric needs to be first translated into IES data, which can then be set via the node tree.

As a later step, I would love to then integrate IFC into Radiance in a more streamlined manner, which is where the real value of these lights come in. Right now, IFC has extremely poor support for CG / ArchViz requirements - which I really hope they will improve, so the actual usecases where elements like these are useful are more around light simulation.

It seems relatively straightforward - what is your timeline for implementation like? Would you need help with anything? Would you prefer to pair program or code alone? Let me know!

1 Like

Hello Mr. Moult, I’m so happy that you’ve replied this topic! I’ve been working on this research for about 7 months now and first I’ve focused on scripting with Python and also working with IES lights. I am not really good at with coding either I’m learning as I go but I’m quite passionate to do further enchancements.